April 2022 Monthly Review

Nic Bennett
3 min readMay 6, 2022

--

(these are just in notes form for my own accountability — feel free to reach out if you’d like to hear more about a particular thing)

thorns

  • feeling disappointed by friends
  • have to resubmit structure ms because it is too similar to a report I wrote
  • missing out on social time because of dissertation proposal
  • perfectionism and fear of starting showing up for STEM graduate student study
  • trouble with anxiety and insomnia and not being hungry
  • impulse spending on a small paycheck
  • car broke down
  • difficult to say no to stuff that I like to make room for stuff that I love, especially if it means disappointing someone

roses

  • watching plays for BIPAC again
  • showing up for conflict around social justice in new ways (bridging work)
  • birthday hike with Johanna
  • submitted AEJMC collaborative grant
  • Asaf’s improv class
  • almost done with dissertation proposal
  • outlined STEM grad student white paper
  • floor fuckers class with Villanelle
  • healing through seduction classes
  • presentation to PEO chapter to thank them
  • presentation to Planet Texas 2050
  • submitted Waterhouse grant
  • work with Resmaa
  • sobriety coaching with Dani from Tempest
  • Tempest community calls to meet other people in substance abuse recovery
  • Longview and El Ranchito want me to do improv with them
  • met UBC theater researchers and did a workshop with them
  • artist dates reinvigoration and actually fun again
  • dancing at cheer up charlies with Cynthia

buds

  • time off after deadlines
  • trip to Rochester to visit Marc’s parents with Pai
  • sabbatical coming up
  • my birthday
  • BGG

themes and insights and questions (from morning pages and journaling)

  • seeking ease in writing papers
  • want to creatively express myself more with low stakes (writing, drawing)
  • money stress
  • turning away from old habits (flight/flight, drinking) where I know where they end up and trying to stay open to transformation
  • curiosity and openness
  • rejection rituals
  • anxiety, distraction, insomnia, trouble eating
  • using grants to figure out the methods for my dissertation proposal, bewilderment followed by insight
  • experimenting with what my body’s bedtime feels like
  • recovery as a practice, as a spiral pathway
  • naming my recovery “why”s
  • focusing on what I do want rather than what I don’t want
  • power of recovery communities and needing that in my life
  • STRESS
  • how do I stay in relationship and love with someone I don’t like or disagree with? how do I have acquaintances?

actions needed

  • more reflection when fear and perfectionism are the blockers
  • give less energy to things I can’t control — surrender and be still
  • resting after a couple of months of going hard with deadlines

media consumed in the last month

film

  • The Northman
  • Everything, Everywhere, All at Once

tv

  • What We Do in the Shadows
  • Our Flag Means Death
  • Severance

books

  • Art on My Mind: Visual Politics
  • The Craft of Research
  • Artie and the Wolf Moon
  • Vattu (all books)
  • Science Communication: Culture, Identity and Citizenship
  • Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die
  • Allen Carr’s Easyway to Control Drinking
  • A Master of Djinn
  • Akata Woman
  • Analyzing Visual Data
  • Antifragile
  • Plague Birds

board games/rpgs

  • The Between
  • Return to Dark Tower

video games

  • Spiritfarer
  • Walkabout Miniature Golf

MOOCS/youtube

  • Fandom, Social Media, and Authenticity

--

--

Nic Bennett

@UTAustin researcher transforming #scicomm to a space of belonging w/ arts- & science-based research & practice #ActuallyAutistic Queer & Enby, they/them